Digitally Imported Homepage

Go Back   Digitally Imported Forums > Daily Life > Other Passions > Computers & Information Technology
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Nov 30th, 2008, 07:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Addict in Training

Default What mb to buy? newbie here

What is a good stable and very compatable motherboard? Im looking to build a fast AMD XP 1900. Im thinking a Asus board? I dont need Raid or onboard sound. Any suggestions? I probably wont overclock it.
thanks
tqm189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread Nov 30th, 2008, 04:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Regular Forum Addict

Are you AMD fanboy?

The Athlon XP 1900 use Socket A, this socket has been replaced by AM2 and AM2+ sockets. If you are planning a cheap build with an upgrade in the future, I suggest getting a motherboard with AM2 socket and, therefore, plan to use processor that goes into AM2 socket:
Processors for under 25 dollars: Newegg.com - $10 - $25, Processors - Desktops, CPUs / Processors, Computer Hardware
Processors for under 50 dollars: Newegg.com - $25 - $50, Processors - Desktops, CPUs / Processors, Computer Hardware

It is my opinion that modern processor would be much more powerful then the XP 1900 you are thinking, modern processors has faster bus, more cache and possibly better architecture.