Digitally Imported Homepage

Go Back   Digitally Imported Forums > General Discussion > The Artist Lounge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread Apr 22nd, 2008, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Addict

Default Complete and utter newbie, would appreciate a push

Lately I've been toying around with a Yamaha keyboard I have and I'm trying to teach myself some piano. I'm really enjoying it and I'm thinking I would like to take it a step further by maybe trying to make my own stuff with hardware and software synths.

I have a very low budget so I hear that it is best to start with software. My question is, how import is music theory in relation to this? Meaning...should I stick with toying around and getting better on my keyboard before even beginning to try stuff like FL Studio? Like I said, I'm a complete newbie and have no background in music. Also, I don't want to spend a ton of money (which I currently don't have :P) and then not have a clue what I'm doing.

I did read the stickies like a good boy, but I'd like to personal opinions back from you guys How did you get started? By starting with software, do you mean I only play with software, or would I need something like a M-Audio Oxygen 49? What's a good route to take without feeling too intimidated?

thanks. It's just hard to process all of this info I'm trying to learn about :P
g4rlik is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread Apr 22nd, 2008, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
DI Extreme Addict

Send a message via AIM to Jeremy Micheal

learning music theory will only help more..in concept you dont really need to know it to get started, but it'll definitly help.

as far as getting a controler or not is totally up to you..it really depends on wether you'd like to have more hands on control vs. just using a mouse..me personally i prefer the hands on approach. there are tons of midi controllers that will work with the programs.

COME TO THE DARKSIDE,